CURRICULUM VITAE of William D. Phillips,) Updated June 2006

Citizenship: United States

Business address:	National Institute of Standards and Technology Mail Stop 8424 Gaithersburg, Maryland 20899-8424 telephone: (301) 975-6554; FAX: (301) 975-8272 e-mail: <william.phillips@nist.gov></william.phillips@nist.gov>
	e-mail: <william.phillips@nist.gov> <william.phillips@physics.umd.edu></william.phillips@physics.umd.edu></william.phillips@nist.gov>

Education:

Juniata College, Huntington, Pennsylvania, B.S., Physics, summa cum laude, 1970.
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, Ph. D., Physics, 1976. Thesis under Prof. Daniel Kleppner, thesis title: I. The Magnetic Moment of the Proton in H₂O; II. Inelastic Collisions in Excited Na.

Scientific Experience after Ph.D:

1978-present: Physicist, National Bureau of Standards (Now National Institute for Standards and Technology; 1990-96: Group Leader of the Laser Cooled and Trapped Atoms Group of the Atomic Physics Division; 1996-98, NIST Fellow; 1998-present: NIST Fellow and Group Leader of the Laser Cooling and Trapping Group.

2001-present: Distinguished University Professor, University of Maryland, College Park MD; 2006-present, College Park Professor

2002-2003 George Eastman Visiting Professor, Balliol College and Clarendon Laboratory, Department of Physics, University of Oxford

1992-2001: Adjunct Professor of Physics, University of Maryland, College Park.

1989-1990: Visiting Professor at Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, in the laboratory of Claude Cohen-Tannoudji and Alain Aspect:

1976-1978 Chaim Weizmann Postdoctoral Fellow at Massachusetts Institute of Technology:

Professional societies:

American Physical Society (Fellow) Optical Society of America (Fellow and Honorary Member) Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences National Academy of Sciences Korean Academy of Science and Technology (foreign honorary member) European Academy of Arts, Sciences and Humanities (titulal member) Sigma Xi Research Society Society of Physics Students Pontifical Academy of Sciences

Awards and Honors:

Pennsylvania State Scholarship 1966-1970 C. C. Ellis Memorial Scholarship 1969-1970 Election to Juniata College Honor Society 1969. Woodrow Wilson Fellow 1970 National Science Foundation Fellow 1970-1973 Chaim Weizmann Postdoctoral Fellow 1976-1978 Outstanding Young Scientist Award of the Maryland Academy of Sciences, 1982. Scientific Achievement Award of the Washington Academy of Sciences. 1982 Silver Medal of the Department of Commerce, 1983 Samuel Wesley Stratton Award of the National Bureau of Standards, 1987 Arthur S. Flemming Award of the Washington Downtown Jaycees, 1988 Gold Medal of the Dept. of Commerce, 1993. Election to American Academy of Arts and Sciences 1995 Election as a NIST Fellow, 1995 Michelson Medal of the Franklin Institute 1996 Distinguished Traveling Lecturer (APS-DLS) 1996-98 Election to the National Academy of Sciences 1997 Nobel Prize in Physics 1997

Nobel Prize Citation: "for development of methods to cool and trap atoms with laser light" The 1997 prize was shared with Steven Chu of Stanford University and Claude Cohen-Tannoudji of the Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris.

Honorary Doctor of Science, Williams College 1998 Doctor Honoris Causa de la Universidad de Buenos Aires 1998

Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science (APS) 1998

Honorary Doctor of Science, Juniata College 1999

American Academy of Achievement Award 1999

Gold Medal of the Pennsylvania Society 1999

Richtmeyer Award of the Am. Assoc. of Physics Teachers 2000

Election to the European Academy of Arts, Sciences and Humanities

(titular member), 2000

Condon Award of NIST 2002

Archie Mahan Prize of the OSA

Election as an Honorary Freeman of the Worshipful Company of Scientitific Instrument Makers, London 2003

Election as an alumni member of Juniata College's chapter of Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society 2004

Election as an Honorary Member of the Optical Society of America Appointed an Academician of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences 2004

Meritorious Senior Professional Award (Presidential Rank) 2005